Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Crepes sans a non stick pan

Posted by eemilla on January 6, 2013

I love crepes, both savory and sweet, but I was frequently frustrated trying to make them without a non-stick pan.  I don’t like non-stick pans because they’re too high maintenance not to mention their questionable safety especially when you fail to perfectly maintain them.

With my most recent attempt, I conceded and used the non-stick pan my husband insisted on purchasing.  I tried our large cast iron skillet and our aluminum saute pan, and below is a pathetic result juxtaposed to crepes from the non-stick pan.

crepes

I began my quest for a crepe pan online, and I was irritated by how much they sell for.  Even the lower priced ones seemed too expensive (especially when you factor shipping) not to mention too large and sometimes even non-stick.  I found a 6″ cast iron pan at a kitchen box store for less than $10, and I’ve made beautiful crepes ever since (although an inch or two larger pan would be ideal).

crepe and the pan

I found my recipe on Smitten Kitchen who adapted it from Alton Brown.

 

2 large eggs
1.25 cup water
1 cup flour
3 tablespoons oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
Butter or oil, for coating the pan

Mix the flour and salt.  In a large measuring cup, measure your water then whisk in the eggs and oil.  Place the crepe batter in a covered bowl in the refrigerator for one hour or up to 48 hours.  To make pouring into the pan easier I like to use my spouted bowl.

Heat your pan over medium high heat. Heat your oven to 180F and leave a cookie sheet or broiling rack in the oven to store your cooked crepes and to keep them warm until you’re ready to serve.  Add oil to coat. Pour a couple tablespoons of batter into the center of the pan and swirl to spread evenly. Cook until firm enough to flip. Cook for another 10 seconds. Keep your cooked crepes warm in the oven until you are done cooking all of the batter then fill before serving.

I typically fill these with savory toppings, but they tasted great with chocolate hazelnut spread on Christmas morning.

Leave a Reply

 
