Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Water Savings Tips

Posted by eemilla on March 3, 2011

For this week’s Change the World Wednesday, please consider water conservation.  I’ve never lived in a house with a garbage disposal so breaking the habit of using isn’t an issue.  We are vegetarian at home so we don’t have much food waste that cannot be composted or dumped in the trash can without causing too much of a stink.  However, my favorite water saving tips are below (quite apropos with the tight economy we’re facing).

1.  Turn the water off when you are washing your hands.  In order to be effective you should rub your soapy hands for about thirty seconds after using the restroom or coughing or sneezing or whatever, and there is absolutely no need to run the water all that time.

2.  Rather than run the shower faucet to heat the water before my shower, I turn on the sink faucet (although my husband argues that it takes longer to heat up thus probably not saving much if any water).

3.  We water our houseplants with the less than fresh water in our dog and cat water dishes.

4.  Rain is the only water than our lawn receives, even if it turns brown.

5.  When I hand wash dishes, I stop the rinse sink so that I can rinse all but the largest items without running any more water.

6.  Our shower has a low flow head (which reduced our bill by about $10 or $5 a month), and when I am not rinsing I use the water pause feature, which doesn’t stop the flow but just cuts it significantly.

7.  For years we have kept three 750mL bottles in our toilet tank to reduce how much water each flush uses.

8.  We only wash full loads of laundry and dishes in our automatic machines.

9.  I only shower when I am dirty.

10.  Even when I’m sick and just want to linger under the hot spray, my showers are less than ten minutes.

 

3 Responses to “Water Savings Tips”

  1. Great tips! I like #4 … it just kills me when I see people watering lawns … it’s such a waste. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Beth said

    Those are really good tips. I like to keep an empty milk carton beside the sink so I can use it to catch the water I run while I’m waiting for the water to heat up.

    I will confess that I do water my plants outside when it’s dry. I’ve got too much invested in them to lose them. But I couldn’t care less about the grass…NEVER water it.

  3. eemilla said

    What a good idea about the catcher while the water is heating up; I’m using it! Unfortunately, the plants outside the house generally die a slow dry death; however, I have one houseplant that is over ten years old, and another than is almost ten and has been divided three times. I tried to convince the Mr to mulch over the grass and plant bulbs and shrubs so we wouldn’t have to look at dry grass or mow it, but he loves mowing his grass.

Leave a Reply

 
