Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Strive Not to Drive 2010

Posted by eemilla on May 17, 2010

Although I don’t recall if last year’s Strive Not to Drive challenge began on a Saturday, I was perplexed by the decision to begin on a Saturday considering Sunday is the one day of the week that Asheville Transit does not run.  Are the organizers trying to encourage participants to think about options other than transit, or is their goal to highlight the absurdity of thinking of our transit as a viable alternative to a vehicle when its coverage (both in time and territory) is severely limited?  Regardless, I joined the pledge.

Sadly, I repeated last year’s mistake by oversleeping (Sunday nights at the Hanger rock!)  My plans are to walk to work tomorrow and Thursday; for Wednesday, I’ll forgo the car for both the morning and evening commutes, and on both Friday and Saturday, we will both forgo the car.  Last’s year event pushed me into more morning bus commutes; even though I feel ridiculous riding the bus for all of a mile, it saves me much sweat and allows me enough time to change into work attire before the office opens.

Wednesday night is our main issue; the last run from downtown to our bus stop is at 5:30.   Route 36 runs much later, but it stops about five miles short of our stop (I think I may have mentioned a few times about the lack of sidewalks especially south of I40).  While it is true we could bike it, my fitness level would render me a bit unsafe.  I understand that bus fares do not provide a significant source of revenue, but our household would be more than happy to pay more money for evening rides to help fund expanding service.

Get on the bus!

2 Responses to “Strive Not to Drive 2010”

  1. Beth said

    Hi there! Sorry to be a bit late commenting. I’ve had houseguests for a while and haven’t been online much.

    I wish I could get on the bus! Or the train. I actually hate driving and would gladly take the bus (or train) into Asheville from my rural home if there were service available. I do wish there were options for those of us out here in the country who would like to save a little fossil fuel.

    I applaud you (and your husband) for striving not to drive and for your one-car household.

  2. Beth said

    By the way, I hope y’all had fun (hot tub and otherwise) at the French Broad River Festival!

Leave a Reply

 
