Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Rezaz Redux

Posted by eemilla on January 3, 2010

With the in-laws in town we wanted to take eat out and decided a place that takes reservations was required (so Bouchon was out), and I wasn’t feel like risking a non vegetarian meal (scratch the Admiral) so Rezaz came up and stuck.  Even though it was decided the night before I waited until around 11 am to visit make the online reservation, and I was disappointed that our seven o’clock option was out.  My honey called to confirm OpenTable.com had the best information, and we went with a 7:45 table.  Fortunately Rezaz was busy so our tardiness wasn’t an issue.  We were sat sometime shortly after eight in a nice cozy corner table with two banquette seats and two chairs; the banquette is in front of a drafty (even though heavily draped) window so all the plush pillows weren’t much consolation over the standard chairs.  After much perusing and general discussion, everyone settled on their courses.

My father-in-law went with the arugula salad and six hour lamb, my stepmother-in-law chose butternut squash bisque and unfortunately scallops, which the kitchen ran out of, then the shrimp dish, my husband decided on the lump crab cake and the grouper special with a nice dill risotto, and I felt a four course meal was in order after I had eaten a light breakfast and skipped lunch before a late dinner.  In addition to being hungry, I had a bit of a sore throat so I also went with the butternut squash bisque followed by sweet potato gnocchi and the token vegetarian entree, mushroom rotolo.  I didn’t sample the arugula salad as I usually have it, but I did love the butternut squash bisque; it had plenty of cumin, and the squash flavor wasn’t compromised or subdued by the cream (the serving was also a good portion).  I enjoyed the sauteed gnocchi as much as I usually do, and the rest of the table shared the opinion.  My husband stuck with his crab cake because I wanted the gnocchi and he couldn’t persuade his stepmom to order the crab cake; while the crab cake is the same delectable lump, it has been divided (into two good sized portions) with an Asian slaw in the middle.  I really appreciate Rezaz making changes to the menu without getting rid a favorite item completely (although I don’t think another vegetarian entree or two would hurt).  The rotolo was better this time around with tomato sauce packing a nice sweet and spicy punch.  We also received the complimentary bread, but I think four tops get the same portion as two tops; even with not quite enough to go around everyone had some of my favorite fruity bread.

The drink service fouled our server all night long (otherwise she was professional); I started with a hot toddy, but my promised honey never arrived.  I wasn’t too worried about the absent honey because the whisky, lemon, and hot tea worked enough magic on my throat.  The second slip was a bit more of an issue; my father-in-law ordered a vouvray or French chenin blanc, but we received the sauvignon blanc above it on the menu.  To be fair, our server may not have heard him request the “third chenin blanc” and his finger may have appeared to point to both the sauvignon and the chenin blancs; additionally, the mistake was corrected quickly.  The third error was also the one handled the most unprofessionally.  With my tiramisu dessert I thought a glass of Grand Mariner would be delightful, but my server either disagreed or didn’t want to tell me it was unavailable.  After a bite or two of my dessert, I took a sip of my drink only to discover it was amaretto!  When I complained to the server about it she said they were out of my requested liqueur so they replaced it with a comparable substitute.  Again I am not certain if she was being condescending or just indifferent, but while both liqueurs are made with cognac, orange and almond are not interchangeable tastes.  Even if they were similar, I should have been consulted; if I order Bailey’s or Jameson, I want Bailey’s not Carolans or Jameson not Bushmill.

Overall we did have a nice meal, and I am sure the next time we have family in town we’ll consider eating at Rezaz.

Leave a Reply

 
