Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Buns from the oven

Posted by eemilla on August 30, 2009

I’m not someone who has to cook everything from scratch, but I am demanding about my food so if I cannot find an easier substitute then I will make it myself.  Thanks to SmittenKitchen for this lovely light brioche bun recipe.  Although I don’t make many baked goods without subbing out some of the bread or all purpose flour with wheat flour; here though, I only traded 1/4 cup of bread flour out for the whole wheat in order to keep the light in the recipe.  As a result they turned out just like the buns I was buying from a local bakery until they started selling defrosted (and as a result deflated) hoagies.  We used them for phillies, and next time I think I will stretch them out into hoagie rolls.  I will also likely trade another quarter cup of bread for wheat flour.

4 Responses to “Buns from the oven”

  1. Cool blog, I came here from SF’s link. I have added you to my Blogger’s Cafe http://avarchives.blogspot.com/ under Green Blogs.

    Good luck, keep up the fight.

    AV

  2. lola said

    those look really good!

  3. forthrightfattie said

    Love Smitten Kitchen! But a question–what’s a phillie?

  4. eemilla said

    In my vernacular, a philly or phillies (did I plurual it wrong?) is cheesesteak sandwich; although we don’t do the meat any longer, and the cheese is sometimes missing too. I’ve never been to Philly, but cheesesteak sandwiches were a childhood staple that I couldn’t part with when I stopped eating meat. We tried tofu which was okay, but seitan has much better flavor and texture for phillies.

Leave a Reply

 
