Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Delectable Veg Dinners

Posted by eemilla on May 16, 2009

Even though Strive Not to Drive is a great way to get one think about transportation, it was much easier for me to cut to meat out of my diet than it has been to cut the oil consumption.  While we do eat animal flesh (eew that sounds a bit gross) on special occasions, at home we are almost exclusively vegetarian (almost because my Alabama man has to bring home his Dad’s gumbo).  I don’t plan on cooking vegan, but I like it when it just happens that way (like with most of the stir fry meals).  Although I have moved from whole cow’s milk to soy back to organic skim or 1% cow’s milk on to almond milk, neither of us can dream of giving up cheese (or fish and seafood for that matter).

Our stand by veg dinner is stir fucking fry, so named because it is so easy that it used to get heavy rotation on the meal calendar.  This week has been my week to cook, and I had menu writer’s block so I had two nights of stir fry.  In my defense both were used to clean out the refrigerator of some forgotten provisions, which is the other big plus.  The third benefit is the you can cheaply pack in the protein; last night I made peanut butter stir fry with tempeh and lentils (rounded out with brown rice, onions, carrots, celery, garlic, ginger, and scallions), and between the two of us we can easily make three meals out of it.

 My honey, the chef, made a meal that is much more aesthetically pleasing.  butternut terrine of sorts  He created loose terrines with sauteed spinach and onions, baked butternut squash  rounds, goat cheese, and soysage slices.  They were delicious, and they looked so elegant.  I think soysage is the perfect vegetarian starter food because it looks,  tastes, and smells like sausage slices straight from the refrigerated food section.  Laughing Seed serves soysage at brunch every Sunday along with homemade  biscuits and vegetarian (possibly vegan) gravy.

2 Responses to “Delectable Veg Dinners”

  1. Beth said

    We don’t eat a lot of meat either—mostly because we can’t afford it. Your cuisine sounds wonderful. I’ve never tried soysage, but I like those soy bacon strips fairly well, though I can’t really say that they give me the full greasy-lipped bacon-eating satisfaction, as they’re a bit dry. But they’re pretty good in recipes. I used them for my New Year’s Day Hoppin’ John.

  2. eemilla said

    Making your own seitan is really easy, albeit time consuming. As it freezes well it is best to make in big batches. Plus you can flavor it anyway you want. Being the lazy bones that I am, I buy it when its on sale in bulk then freeze and defrost as needed.

Leave a Reply

 
