Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

NC House Bill 88 (aka Senate 221, 2009 Healthy Youth Act )

Posted by eemilla on February 21, 2009

2009 Healthy Youth Act plans to change North Carolina’s sex-ed from abstinence only to an abstinence based comprehensive curriculum.  This is great news, and it needs vocal support against the usual suspects.  I fully support this change, but I wish there were some mention of masturbation as another option; what else kills the two birds of relieving sexual energy and providing 100% protection against pregnancy or disease?  Masturbation is the only middle road between partnered sex outside of a faithfully monogamous relationship and no sex.  I don’t necessarily envision instructors demonstrating techniques, but masturbation isn’t a dirty word or act.  Dr. Jocelyn Elders was ahead of her time fifteen years ago.  However, I suspect we will have to wait another fifteen or more years before masturbation can come out of the closet.  I didn’t catch this on my first reading, but this morning I had to laugh at: “a mutually faithful monogamous heterosexual relationship in the context of marriage is the best lifelong means of avoiding sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV/AIDS”; I guess not all mutually faithful monogamous relationships are safe.  Below is the email I sent to the House’s primary sponsors with my other state elected officials carbon copied.  Surprisingly I didn’t receive a reply.

Dear Representative Fisher,

Thank you for co-sponsoring this valuable bill; education is power, and in the vacuum of parental discussion, it is good public policy to promote comprehensive sexual education, especially while keeping the focus on abstinence as the only surefire way to avoid pregnancy and the best method to avoid disease.  It is important to provide instruction on safer sex methods without seeming to discount the danger of sex outside a clean, committed monogamous relationship.  While an abstinence only curriculum is naive and can be viewed as condescending, jumping right from no sex to partnered sex is also a mistake.

Masturbation should be promoted as an outlet for sexual energy; it is better than abstinence because it doesn’t deny the primal urge for sexual release, and it trumps partnered sex outside of a clean, committed, monogamous relationship on the protection from pregnancy and disease.

At the same time that I strongly disprove of abstinence only sexual education, I do respect the rights of other parents to restrict their children’s sexual education curriculum to one that conforms to their religious beliefs.

I appreciate your time, and I hope that this bill will become law.

 

The contacts of the primary sponsors for each of the houses as well as the chairs of each of the committees it has to survive are below for easy cut and paste.

House sponsors:

Bob.England@ncleg.net (also member of the Education Committee and chair of Health Committee)

Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net   (also one of the Vice Chairs of Education Committee)

Alma.Adams@ncleg.net  (also member of the Education Committee)

Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net (also member of the Education Committee)

House Committee on Education Chairs

Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.net

House Committee on Health Chairs

Bob.England@ncleg.net (also member of the Education Committee and primary house sponsor)

Verla.Insko@ncleg.net

Senate sponsors

Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Bob.Atwater@ncleg.net

Doug.Berger@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net

Julia.Boseman@ncleg.net (also one of the Vice Chairs of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Charlie.Dannelly@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Don.Davis@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Katie.Dorsett@ncleg.net (also one of the Vice Chairs of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Tony.Foriest@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Linda.Garrou@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net

Edward.Jones@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net

Vernon.Malone@ncleg.net (also Co-Chair of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

William.Purcell@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Joe.Queen@ncleg.net (also one of the Vice Chairs of Education/Higher Education Committee)

Larry.Shaw@ncleg.net

Josh.Stein@ncleg.net (also a member of Education/Higher Education Committee)

David.Weinstein@ncleg.net

2 Responses to “NC House Bill 88 (aka Senate 221, 2009 Healthy Youth Act )”

  1. Beth said

    My parents, having been raised in a very conservative environment, were equally conservative (in fact, downright Victorian) when it came to discussing sex. So I was always completely open with my kids, wanting them to be knowledgable and to ensure that they always felt comfortable discussing anything with me. That being said, when I brought up masturbation, they looked horrified and covered their ears and starting doing that La,la,la, la thing really loud. I uncovered their ears and told them to just listen to me for one minute and then I’d never bring the “M” word up again. So they did and then they told me that EVERYONE already knows it’s okay to do that. “You didn’t have to tell us that. I mean, what did you think, we thought we’d go blind?” they said. “Please, please… never speak of this again.” I reckon it’s kind of hard to hear your mama talk about such things. 🙂 So, as promised, I never mentioned it again and they, as far as I know, are abstinent college kids with very healthy attitudes towards sex. But, despite their horror, I’m glad I brought it up. If I recall, it seems they mentioned that their sex ed had included information about masturbation. So it may already be a part of at least some sex ed programs. I would hope, too, that most parents might talk about it with their kids–at least once.

  2. eemilla said

    I am really happy to hear that; not having kids and only my memories of what the three day sex ed class was like, I may have been too harsh with the current curriculum as well as underestimated teenage knowledge.

Leave a Reply

 
