Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Gratitude

Posted by eemilla on November 27, 2008

In the tradition of Thanksgiving, I want to put it out there.  

I love my husband and the almost ten years that we have been together.  We met young, and we have evolved; I could not be so happy without him.  I look forward to the next fifty years together, traveling and having a merry time.  He has expanded my tastes in food, and he patiently taught how to ski.

Thanks to my wonderful four legged fam for all the wet noses and furry head-butts.

 

Jasmine

Jasmine

Millie & Mr

Millie & Mr

 

Kayo

Kayo

 

 

 

My hereditary people fam aren’t too bad either; our wedding was met with such joy, love, and support. and wow, the cake was delicious.

 

Amaretto Cream Cake

Amaretto Cream Cake

 

 

Blessed be, Brother Otis.  Although I only embeded the part of the festival that made me fall in love with Otis Redding, I recommend watching all three videos in the series; better yet, you should purchase the entire recorded performance.  I have to give credit to VH1 for airing the entire recorded performance sometime in 1999-2000 which turned me on to Brother Otis.  

I cannot think what my life would have been like without the music that I sing when I am pissed or happy.  I have tried to include a good groove like a good mixed tape to put you in the right mood.  This is a somewhat random pick of my favorites, but I cannot claim it is comprehensive in any sense of the word.

Screenwriter’s Blues

Subterranean Homesick Blues

Freddie Freeloader

Gloria (as performed by Patti Smith)

Devil Woman

Half Moon

Fortified Live

Blackitolism

Lawdy Mama

Got to Give It Up 

Professor Booty

A Day in the Life

Hotwax

Small Axe

What A Diff’rence A Day Made

Rock the House

Down by the Seaside

Power of Love

We A Rockers

Police and Thieves

Split Open and Melt

Does Everyone Stare

Street Talkin’

SpottieOttieDopaliscious

Apache Rose Peacock

Happy Phantom

Dance Lesson Number Two

I know I am leaving off a bunch (Billie Holiday, Grateful Dead, Erykah Badu, Laura Reed) as I am so bad at picking favorites.

Here’s to having a lovely, snowy winter.  I am looking forward to lots of good, southeast skiing and plenty of fires in the fireplace.

One Response to “Gratitude”

  1. Beth said

    What a nice tribute to your husband…and to your beautiful four-legged family! Your wedding cake is truly the prettiest I have ever seen. Did it taste as good as it looked?
    And I can’t watch the videos because of my dial-up internet, but I, too, love Brother Otis. Sometimes, the way he hit the high notes in certain songs makes me cry.

Leave a Reply

 
