Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Gnocchi with Butternut Squash and Sage

Posted by eemilla on November 23, 2008

I made dinner last night based on my cravings and what was on hand, and for the first time that I can recall it turned out tasty.  I took some photos, and they are woefully amateur unlike the best food blog I’ve found, SmittenKitchen.com.  Also the gnocchi wasn’t much better than frozen gnocchi, and it is certainly much more labor intensive than pulling it out of the freezer and dumping it into water.  However, with less than six ingredients that most households have on hand and that are cheap, I think the trick to gnocchi is making it in large batches and freezing the leftovers because the store bought stuff is not cheap.  I used the gnocchi recipe from The Joy of Cooking; we had too many walnuts and butternut squash so I picked the sage from Mom’s, and voila! a tasty fall meal.  I didn’t get a photo of the finished product because the camera’s battery hadn’t been charged in a while, but maybe next time after I get the food mill or try the grater version from SmittenKitchen.

Leave a Reply

 
