Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Dorky Fun Music Survey

Posted by eemilla on August 22, 2008

Thanks to Licensed to Blog for this great little music survey.  My answers are below.

 

If someone new were in your car, what song on your player would you be quickest to skip out of embarrassment: 

I still have a lot of my husband’s songs as I am trying to be maybe hear something I may have previously missed in his White Zombie, Pantera, Widespread Panic, Tupac, or Wyclef albums.  Of my own songs, I would confess to my neverending nostaglia for my entire Cypress Hill mix.

What song or songs is/are most “atypical” on your player? I have a few Hank Williams, Jr songs (see the above for why).

What song(s) on your player turns you on? Erykah Badu’s Boogie Nights from her live one and Otis Redding’s Try a Little Tenderness from Monterey Pop.

If you wanted to get a member of the opposite sex in the mood, what song would you program to come on when they are in the car? Let’s Get It On by Marvin Gaye as the only member of the opposite sex I am looking to turn on is my husband, and this would have a sweet High Fidelity reference for us.

What is the longest song on your player? Mountain Jam from The Allman Brother’s Eat A Peach (I didn’t include any classical music because it isn’t in the general shuffle)

What do you think is the silliest song on your player? I Want to Get High Cypress Hill, or I also have two Michael Jackson tracks from Off the Wall: Workin Day and Night and Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough.

What did you most recently add to your player? Our computer is too new; therefore, no new music until we pay it off.

What did you most recently delete? Some of my husband’s stuff like Mystikal.

What is your favorite song on your player that is from a movie? Deep Blue Day Brian Eno Trainspotting and Across the Universe Fionna Apple Pleasantville

Is there a song on your player that is only there for someone else’s benefit? Fortunately I don’t have a song on the player that is just for someone else as when we travel we have enough shared music to avoid the Pantera and Tori Amos.

What song or artist do you find yourself skipping most frequently and therefore should probably delete?  I skip lots of stuff, but only because I listen to what fits my mood.  Ani DiFranco and Patty Smith may work on Monday, but I may need Outkast and Slick Rick come Tuesday.

 

Which is your most played song and is this your favorite song or is does the player have favorites? Love the Life You Live Midnite; while this song is great, I had to create a super random playlist that won’t play any song that has been played within the last month just to avoid hearing this and the Dead’s Althea every time I ran through a playlist.  This question is my contribution to the survey.

Without cheating, start your player and list the first 10 songs that come up in random play.

1. Rock n Roll Led Zeppelin LedZep IV

2. Surf Wax America Weezer, blue album

3. So Fresh, So Clean Outkast, Stanokia

4. Love the Life You Live Midnite 

5. X-Factor Lauryn Hill The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill

6. Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds The Beatles Sgt Pepper

7. Blowin’ in the Wind Bob Dylan The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan

8. Da Art of Storytellin Part 2 Outkast Aquemini

9. Glass Onion The Beatles white album

10.  Give Up the Funk Parliament Greatest Hits

 

One Response to “Dorky Fun Music Survey”

  1. Matt said

    Thanks for doing it. I enjoyed your answers!

Leave a Reply

 
