Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Savannah Food

Posted by eemilla on December 20, 2012

Savannah’s food left us underwhelmed.  Everything was expensive even by tourist standards.  I concede that I didn’t expect much to begin with considering I don’t eat seafood or “Southern” food.  We never thought of the eating at the mayonnaise queen’s place, and if you are ever in Savannah and think you might, try Mrs Wilkes’ Dining Room instead (the people we rented the condo from strongly encourage it).

For our first night, we ended up hungry without a clue where we wanted to eat, and we ended up at a corporate restaurant, Rocks on the River, where we parted with a disgusting sum of money for some quite mediocre fare.  My honey had the shrimp pappardelle for $20, and I had a margherita thin crust pizza along with a $9 kir royale where the creme de cassis did precious little to cover up the cheap sparkling wine.  Our server was nice and attentive, and we enjoyed the people watching as well as the access to the riverwalk for LB to burn some energy.

Urbanspoon

A recurring theme of our trip was poor timing, and our trip to PJ Thai was one of those missed stops.  912food2go saved the day by delivering Pakwan.  While I cannot recall what I ordered, I do know I enjoyed it, and we’ll definitely eat there again.  LB’s bread sampler was huge, and we ate it again the next day.  The rice was perfectly cooked and delicious, and my honey loved his saag paneer (again enough for two meals).

Pakwan Indian Cuisine on Urbanspoon

If we hadn’t decided to have an appetizer and drinks at Vic’s on the River, we probably could have eaten at PJ Thai.  We didn’t sit anywhere with a view of the river or much of anything, but our server was quick to get LB’s fries out as well as good to remove our finished plates.  She also entertained LB with her crumb clearing skills.  The food was expensive without being wonderful.  I went for the fried green tomatoes; they were great with the goat cheese once I freed them from the super heavy and less than delicious breading.  My honey had the oysters rockafeller, which he really enjoyed.  Two cocktails, two apps, and a plate of fries set us back $42 before tip.  Don’t let the white tablecloths and live piano player fool you, the tables are much too crowded for a romantic dinner.

Vic's On The River on Urbanspoon

Our final dining experience was a Huey’s on the River.  We enjoyed a nice riverwalk view, and our service was fine.  My pesto pasta dish reminded me of the frozen raviloi we buy when we want some cheap stuff to throw together, and my husband’s crab cake suffered from too much filling not enough crab.

Huey's On The River on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

