Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Afternoon Lunch

Posted by eemilla on July 5, 2010

My Saturdays generally involve a stroll to the bus stop then to yoga then to the car for a weekly grocery store run, and generally, I will pack a lunch to eat in the park before walking to the car (that my honey drove downtown to work).  However, sometimes I’m either too lazy or forgetful so I’ll grab a bite because I certainly don’t want to go to the grocery store hungry.  I’ve been wanting to check out both The Green Sage and Nine Mile for months, and recently, I was able to do so (on separate weekends).

The Green Sage is located just north of Pack Square on Broadway in the former home of Beanstreets, and the solar panels mark the spot.  The interior is warm and inviting with a huge display case greeting you as you enter.  I really expected little more than coffee house fare, but the menu has several selections (French toast, eggs, sandwiches, soup, salads, smoothies, and plenty of pastries).  I opted for the quiche of the day, which was mushroom and spinach; my wedge of quiche came with a generous side salad.  The quiche was buttery and tasty, and the salad, with its huge pile of sprouts and spring mix, was the perfectly portioned foil for the richness of the quiche.  The service is counter service, and you are responsible for busing your own table.  The Green Sage composts the food waste, and the to-go containers are made of vegetable plastics.

Nestled in Montford, Nine Mile has a simple menu with light fare.  The bright yellow walls and friendly staff welcome regulars and tourists alike.  The Natty Bread served with my Jamaican Me Thirsty was a great respite from the heat of the dish.  I opted for rice and toasted almonds instead of the linguine option, and the sauce was tasty and hot with the vegetable medley (zucchini, squash, and cauliflower) that graces the entire menu.  I also received green and gold peppers that appear in the next item on the menu, More Fyah.  I was a bit surprised to find so many selections on the dessert list, but dessert was not in the cards for me on this trip.  The tables on the sidewalk look like a great place to people watch and say hello to the neighbors.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

