Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

East versus West

Posted by eemilla on May 23, 2010

After Two Spoons and Ultimate Ice Cream ended their partnership, I was forced to drive with my honey to East Asheville to visit the flagship store to confirm that months of craving weren’t warping my memory of truly ultimate ice cream.  My memory was vindicated, but at what cost?  Two Spoons has the location that doesn’t seem completely out of the way (we can almost call it on the way home from downtown, or we can roll it into a trip to Orbit or The Lucky Otter); they have a cute, tiny patio out back, chalkboard paint on the main seating area’s walls, bigger and better waffle cones, and the hot mama (a split single in a waffle cone).  Ultimate has the eponymous product (oh KMA, rum raisin, ginger, chai!), but their location is way out on Tunnel Road in a strip mall behind Pomodoro’s where we have absolutely no reason to ever be.  Due to pure convenience, we’ll likely return to Two Spoons constantly hoping the hyperbole will return, but I will also probably start catching the 13 after yoga for some more Ultimate action.

Ultimate Ice Cream

Two Spoons

I’ve expressed my love for Nona Mia on numerous occasions to anyone who will hear about it so any restaurant would be hard pressed to defeat them in my heart, and Piazza did not compare.  However, Piazza was shocking in just how little it cost us to eat there.  We had an appetizer, a beer for him, and two entrees for less than forty (including a twenty percent tip), and the food was good.  The pasta to sauce ratio was much too high, and the sauce was too buttery rather than the perfect, light Italian trifecta of tomatoes, basil, and garlic I expected; however the dish which easily turned into two meals cost less than $7 (I opted for the small pasta with one sauce).  The pesto our server raved about and the 10″ pizza were not anything to get excited about especially in this city with its plethora of pizza and pesto.  The calamari appetizer would put any calamari you’ve ever eaten at a major chain like Carabba’s to shame (it wasn’t heavy and greasy); however when compared to Nona Mia’s, it was over breaded, and the “spicy” red sauce was laughable with its absence of heat.  I was stoked to see tiramisu on the dessert page (it’s also on their website), but our server informed us their desserts change frequently and it wasn’t available on the day of our visit; the menu should reflect this rather than tease me with hopes of finding tiramisu to replace the now defunct La Catterina’s paragon.  Piazza has a lovely site with plenty of room for large parties along with a nice covered wrap around patio dining area that screens the view of 74 with old mattress springs adorned with bottles and lights.

3 Responses to “East versus West”

  1. [...] Viewed Earth Day RantLentil Tapenade Egg Salad SandwichEast versus WestSummertime equals Ice Cream10 Fun [...]

  2. [...] without me, he brought me some mocha and mint chocolate chip ice cream which could easily give Ultimate Ice Cream and The Hop a run for their money (I haven’t tried any of Ultimate’s vegan options so I [...]

  3. […] (and generously topped) too.  Much to my delight I was able to order the tiramisu for dessert unlike my first visit; it was good, and it was right at $5.  Our service was attentive, and I look forward to […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

