Soap Box

My very own cute little soap box!

Skiing and more local tourism

Posted by eemilla on January 17, 2010

Last week our skiing trip was so much fun, that I almost forgot why I’ve been speaking so disparagingly about Southeast skiing for the past three or so years; I say almost because Sugar Mountain’s Boulder Dash was rather icy so we refrained from Whoopdedoo altogether.  However, Tom Terrific was in fine shape (even though I did lose my edge and wholly embarrass myself on the my first run down).  Even though the parking lot was packed we really didn’t have any trouble with lift lines until around 1:30 or 2p; however, Sugar was doing their best to slow the entire process down by scanning every single lift ticket at every single lift boarding (I guess this would annoy me a bit less if they had a high speed quad).

See the shiny spots on the right? Those are icy patches.

My honey enjoyed half a Frank’s NY Deli club for his lunch; it’s a bit amazing how much stuff they cram onto one hoagie roll.  As much as it costs to go skiing around here, brown bagging for lunch is the way to go as the resorts serve cafeteria (as in middle school cafeteria) fare at higher than cafeteria prices.

Other attempts to spend money throughout the week were foiled; on the way back from skiing, I was craving ice cream, but Ultimate Ice Cream is closed on Mondays.  I decided to wait until Tuesday; we drove across town only to find they had not opened due to the snow event (I guess I might be the only person who craves ice cream when highs are around freezing).  As we were so far out, I headed to Piazza, only to find they were closed on Tuesday (contrary to their website).  The only remedy I could think of was another round of mulled cider and whiskey, so off to Earth Fare for the cider.  I had also planned on buying another jar of Lusty Monk mustard, but the Co-op and then Earth Fare were both out of the original sin flavor!  We took the hint and refrained from dining or drinking out for the rest of the week.

With the weekend, I rode the bus downtown to the Y, and I was feeling so virtuous for using public transit and exercising that I decided I had to try the LAB.  I was crossing my fingers for a sampler; not only do they have a sampler, but for $5.25 you get six pours (probably 2.5 or three ounces, but a friend said surely four ounces).  Currently they have a Belgian white, a pilsner, an IPA, an American ale, a märzan, and a chocolate stout.  I enjoyed the Belgian white and the chocolate stout the most (although I think I might prefer Green Man’s stout), and the märzan was fine.  I was surprised to enjoy the American ale; of course, neither the pilsner nor IPA struck my fancy.  I perused the menu, but I decided not to order anything.  I was interested in trying their artichoke pizza, but I couldn’t think about mascarpone cheese in a savory application.  The interior is just cool; the bar is a huge glossy, amoeba shaped thing in front of the tanks, and their patio will be great for Lexington Avenue people watching come warmer temperatures.

As I’ve said before I have an insatiable weekly craving for Lusty Monk’s Original Sin mustard so I walked to their downtown location in hopes of eating some pretzels and mustard, but they were closed so I walked down the stairs to Firestorm Cafe and Books.  The cafe is cozy and narrow, but they have window seating facing Commerce and Coxe Avenue.  The crowd was mostly hipster; at one point a guy at the table next to me even called someone in their circle of friends so bourgeois (at least he wasn’t talking on his iPhone)!  Even though I balked a bit the $9 price tag, I ordered their philly.  While the sandwich was good, it wasn’t quite deserving of its price, and unlike most sandwiches it comes sans sides.  Although I couldn’t be certain, the seitan looked and tasted like the seitan I buy at the Co-op, the hoagie could’ve easily come from Sam’s (that would be sadly ironic so I hope it doesn’t), and the aioli was probably garlicky nayonaise; on the other hand I did get a good portion of spinach and avocado.  Nothing about this sandwich was stellar, but it was tasty and fairly filling.  At the counter, they had day old baked goods, and I grabbed a super dark cookie for $1.  It was so rich, chocolaty, and minty; the way it tasted after a day, I know it would’ve been divine straight from the oven with the chocolate chips still gooey.  I’ll be back for their baked goods and maybe a wrap.

5 Responses to “Skiing and more local tourism”

  1. Beth said

    I’m glad you two had such a good skiing trip. Those are great pictures—what an amazing view you had there! Looking at that Frank’s NY Deli sandwich makes me hungry—it looks quite a lot like the sub we used to get at the New Yorker in Roanoke. They made the best sub ever, and I’ve never found one I liked nearly as well.

  2. Scott said

    Thanks for your kind words and feedback on the Philly! We are continuously reevaluating our menu — both in terms of content and price — so it’s great to hear a critical perspective.

    As a side note, I can assure you that we don’t buy bread from Sam’s Club :) The organic hoagies are produced locally at West End Bakery.

  3. eemilla said

    After eating that cookie, I know I’ll be back for a bagel and of course another cookie. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Beth said

    Hi there! Just stopping by to say that I miss your posts. I’ll bet you’re outside enjoying this warmer weather instead of sitting at the computer looking out the window like I am. :-)

  5. eemilla said

    Thanks for stopping by! I’ve been meaning to post today’s post for a while; hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

